GTUC Council

The 9-member University Council comprising distinguished educators, business executives and government officials was inaugurated on August 23, 2010. The Council comprises the underlisted personalities:

  • Prof. Walter S. Alhassan, Chairman
  • Prof. F. A. Allotey, Member
  • Prof. Clement Dzidonu, Member
  • Dr. Osei K. Darkwa, Member
  • Mrs. Sylvia Asempa, Member
  • Mr. Dick Otuteye, Member
  • Hon. Gideon Quarcoo, Member
  • Dr. Ben Adu, Member
  • Mr. Nortey Yeboah, Member

Role of the Council

The functions and responsibilities of the Council shall include the following:

  • Setting policies for the general operations of the University, including, but not limited to, custody, obligation, and expenditure of funds;
  • Approval of new programmes and substantial changes in existing programmes;
  • Approval of major alterations of internal organization, capital facilities, and personnel policies;
  • Reviewing with the Headship the annual evaluation of Deans;
  • Facilitate communication between the institution and the community;
  • Assisting in planning, implementing, and executing fund-raising and development projects aimed at supplementing institutional appropriations;
  • Perpetuating and strengthening alumni and community identification with the institution’s tradition and goals;
  • Selection of recipients of honorary degrees.